Understanding Chakras & Characteristics

When I got into yoga, "chakra" was a word that was thrown around a lot. So much so that I didn't want to tell anyone that I had no idea what they were talking about. At first, I was too shy to ask and then suddenly a few years had gone by and I didn't want to let them know I really didn't know. (Awkward)

Here's what you need to know about chakras. Just in case you're too nervous to ask.

A chakra is an energy center in the body. It is where energy converges and spins in a circular fashion. When a chakra is balanced, it is spinning smoothly and at just the right speed. A chakra can become unbalanced when it either spinning too quickly (overactive) or too slowly (underactive). Different symptoms will show up in either case.

There are tons and tons of chakras in the body but 7 main ones. Each main chakra corresponds to a different location in the body and has different characteristics associated with it. By using this information, you can pinpoint which chakras may be out of balance and can work to bring them back into balance using a variety of tools: music, yoga poses, crystals, color therapy, etc.

1st Chakra - Root Chakra

Traditional Color: Red

Balanced: Vitality, feeling safe and secure, grounded, comfortable in your body, able to relax

Overactive: sluggish, addiction to security, fear of change, material fixation, rigid boundaries

Underactive: jittery, anxious, poor focus & discipline, unorganized


2nd Chakra - Sacral Chakra

Traditional Color: Orange

Balanced: experiences pleasure easily, healthy boundaries, emotionally intelligent, able to nurture self and others

Overactive: addicted to pleasure, excessive emotions, poor boundaries, sensitive

Underactive: lack of passion, unable to find pleasure, fear of sex, rigid


3rd Chakra - Solar Plexus Chakra

Traditional Color: Yellow

Balanced: will power, confident, healthy self-esteem, reliable, responsible, meets challenges

Overactive: manipulative, aggressive, dominating, power hungry

Underactive: low self-esteem, low energy, unable to follow through


4th Chakra - Heart Chakra

Traditional Color: Green

Balanced: loving, compassionate, generous, empathetic, capable of making and holding relationships

Overactive: demanding, clingy, jealous, dependent

Underactive: withdrawn, anti-social, critical, lonely, difficulty making relationships


5th Chakra - Throat Chakra

Traditional Color: Pale Blue

Balanced: connected to your personal truth, able to communicate thoughts and feelings, strong voice, good listener

Overactive: dominant, talks too much, poor listener, interrupts others

Underactive: anxiety, fear of speaking, fear of being yourself, weak voice, unable to express emotions


6th Chakra - Third Eye Chakra

Traditional Color: Dark Blue / Indigo

Balanced: perceptive, good memory, intuitive, able to visualize, imaginative

Overactive: delusions, obsessions, mental fogginess, difficulty concentrating

Underactive: closed minded, lack of imagination, poor memory, difficulty visualizing


7th Chakra - Crown Chakra

Traditional Color: Purple / White

Balanced: spiritually connected, open minded, aware, intelligent

Overactive: spiritual addiction, dissociation from body, confusion, over intellectualization

Underactive: cynical, rigid beliefs, controlling, materialistic, greedy



Older Post Newer Post

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published



Sold Out